

# Development Team

### **Authors**

Adrienne Mason
 Professional Writer/Educator
 Tofino, British Columbia

Karen Charleson
 Professional Writer/Educator
 Hooksum Outdoor School
 Hot Springs Cove, British Columbia

Eric Grace
 Professional Writer/Educator
 Victoria, British Columbia

Jacqueline Martin
 Simon Fraser Junior High School
 Calgary, Alberta

# **Senior Pedagogical Consultant**

Sandy Wohl
 Hugh Boyd Secondary School
 Richmond, British Columbia

# **Aboriginal Consultants**

Dr. E. R. Atleo (Umeek of Ahousaht)
 First Nations Studies Department
 Malaspina University-College
 Nanaimo, British Columbia

Dr. David Blades
 Department of Curriculum Instruction
 University of Victoria
 Victoria, British Columbia

### **Consultants**

Herb Johnston
 Department of Curriculum Studies
 University of British Columbia
 Vancouver, British Columbia

Douglas A. Roberts
 University of Calgary
 Calgary, Alberta

### **Assessment Consultant**

Bruce McAskill
 Hold Fast Consultants, Inc.
 Victoria, British Columbia

# **Reading Consultant**

Shirley Choo
 Resource Teacher
 Montroyal School
 North Vancouver, British Columbia

# **Literacy Consultant**

Gloria Gustafson
 Coordinator
 District Staff Development Team
 Coquitlam School District
 Coquitlam, British Columbia

### **ESL Consultant**

Dr. Sylvia Helmer
 District Learning Services
 Vancouver School Board
 Vancouver, British Columbia

# **Technology Consultant**

Glen Holmes
 Claremont Secondary School
 Victoria, British Columbia

## **Social Considerations Consultant**

Nancy Josephson
 School of Education
 University of the Cariboo
 Kamloops, British Columbia

# **Special Education/At Risk Consultant**

Elizabeth Sparling
 Integration Support Teacher
 Parkland Secondary School
 Sidney, British Columbia

# **Health & Safety Consultant**

Ken P. Waldman, C.R.S.P. Richmond, British Columbia

# **Advisory Panel**

- Elspeth Anderson
   Crofton House School
   Vancouver, British Columbia
- Dr. E. R. Atleo (Umeek of Ahousaht)
   First Nations Studies Department
   Malaspina University-College
   Nanaimo, British Columbia
- Dr. Allan MacKinnon
   Faculty of Education
   Simon Fraser University
   Burnaby, British Columbia
- Darren Macmillan
   Middle School Coordinator
   Winslow Centre
   Coguitlam, British Columbia
- Dr. Jolie Mayer-Smith
   Department of Curriculum Studies
   University of British Columbia
   Vancouver, British Columbia
- Steve Williams
   Shuswap Junior Secondary School
   Salmon Arm, British Columbia
- Josie Wilson
   Ashcroft Secondary School
   Ashcroft, British Columbia

# **Pedagogical Reviewers**

- Elspeth Anderson
   Crofton House School
   Vancouver, British Columbia
- Sara Beardsell
   Nisga'a Elementary School
   New Aiyansh, British Columbia
- Jeff Bourgeois
   Hawthorne Elementary School Delta, British Columbia

- Phyllis Daly
   Lord Strathcona Community
   Elementary School
   Vancouver, British Columbia
- Darren L. Dickie
   Duncan Cran Elementary School
   Fort St. John, British Columbia
- Nancy J. Flood
   Department of Biological Sciences
   University of the Cariboo
   Kamloops, British Columbia
- Gail Ford
  Lord Strathcona Community
  Elementary School
  Vancouver, British Columbia
- Manfred Hartmann
   Erma Stephenson Elementary School Surrey, British Columbia
- Tammy Hartmann
  Green Timbers Elementary School
  Surrey, British Columbia
- Gurprit Hayher
  Glenrosa Middle School
  Westbank, British Columbia
- Cam Hill
   Hartley Bay School
   Hartley Bay, British Columbia
- Pat Jensen
   Aberdeen Elementary School
   Abbotsford, British Columbia
- Wayne H.J. Kelly
  Dunsmuir Middle School
  Victoria, British Columbia
- Arthur Loyie
  Sunshine Hills Elementary School
  Delta, British Columbia
- Emma Marley
   Grandview Heights Elementary School
   Surrey, British Columbia

### Colin P. McTaggart

Chief Dan George Middle School Abbotsford, British Columbia

### Georgina Oberle

Glendale Elementary School Williams Lake, British Columbia

### Calvin Parsons

Strawberry Vale Elementary School Victoria, British Columbia

#### Chantel Parsons

Courtenay Middle School Courtenay, British Columbia

#### Caroline Pennelli

St. Paul's Elementary School Richmond, British Columbia

### Bobby Samra

Kwantlen Park Secondary School Surrey, British Columbia

### Dr. Carol E. Scarff

Faculty of Education Okanagan University College Kelowna, British Columbia

#### Jennifer A. Wilson

Delta Manor Elementary School Delta, British Columbia

#### Josie Wilson

Ashcroft Secondary School Ashcroft, British Columbia

#### Anita Woode

William Konkin Elementary School Burns Lake, British Columbia

### **Accuracy Reviewers**

### Dr. Margot E. Mandy

Department of Chemistry University of Northern British Columbia Prince George, British Columbia

#### Dr. Jonathan Shurin

Department of Zoology University of British Columbia Vancouver, British Columbia

#### Dr. Glenn Woodsworth

Research Scientist Emeritus Geological Survey of Canada Vancouver, British Columbia

# A Special Thanks To...

All the focus group participants, teachers, and students, whose tremendous feedback and insight have supported the development of an engaging and exciting new British Columbia science program.