acknowledgments

This edition brings together a new author team and the new members, Mark and Peter, wish to thank Stephen and Janet, and McGraw-Hill, for the invitation to participate. Mark and Peter would also to thank members of the IR & HRM Group at the University of Newcastle, who could not have given us a more friendly or supportive environment in which to work—thanks guys. Stephen and Janet likewise wish to thank their colleagues at the Management Centre at Kings College in London, and Peter would also like to thank TRS for her patience and support—143.

reviewers of the third edition

Our appreciation also goes to the reviewers from institutions around Australia and New Zealand who took the time to offer constructive criticism of the third edition during its development.

- Bill Harley, University of Melbourne
- Bill Robbins, Charles Sturt University
- Gerry Treuren, University of South Australia
- Glenda Maconachie, Queensland University of Technology
- Gordon Stewart, Central Queensland University
- # Greg Smith, University of New England
- John King, La Trobe University
- John Lewer, University of Newcastle
- John O'Brien, University of New South Wales
- * Kath Morgan, Southern Cross University

case contributors to the third edition

We owe a debt to our colleagues who prepared the case studies.

- Chris Briggs, University of Sydney
- * Colin Lynch, University of Newcastle
- * Jenny Whittard, University of Newcastle

Peter Holland, Monash University

Keri Spooner, University of Technology Sydney

Rachel Parker, University of Queensland

* Maree Murray, University of Wollongong

- Sandra Cockfield, Monash University
- Simon Fishwick, University of Tasmania

* Kerry Evans, Edith Cowan University

- Suzanne Jamieson, University of Sydney
- Leslee Spiess, University of Newcastle
- Nadine White, University of Newcastle
- Peter Waring, University of Newcastle

previous contributors

Throughout the life of this book many other people have provided ongoing and generous support. We would like to thank, in particular, Susan Ainsworth.

Previous edition reviewers have also been instrumental in shaping this text: Sukhan Jackson, Peter Holland, Bernard O'Meara, Keri Spooner, Bill Robbins, John Saw, Peter Waring and Glenda Strachan.

Finally, the patience and professionalism of the team from McGraw-Hill is also greatly appreciated. There are a number of people at McGraw-Hill without whom completion of this third edition would not have been possible. Our special thanks go to Ailsa Brackley du Bois and Melina Deliyannis for their ongoing dedication. The McGraw-Hill production team also deserves our sincere thanks: Jo Munnelly, Amber Cameron, Graham Watson, Collette Hoeben and Jane Brimacombe.

Mark Bray Stephen Deery Janet Walsh Peter Waring xxiii